Skip to content

Board of Directors

AVAHO 2020-2021 Board of Directors

SEPTEMBER 25, 2021:  DENVER, CO: Portraits at the AVAHO 2021 Annual Meeting in Denver on Saturday, September 25, 2021.  (Photo by Cyrus McCrimmon for AVAHO)

Bernadette Heron, PharmD, BCOP

Board President

National PBM Clinical Pharmacy Program Manager
Dept. of Veterans Affairs
Pharmacy Benefits Management
Pittsburgh, PA




Tony Quang, MD, JD

Recent Past-President

Associate Professor of Radiation Oncology, University of Washington School of Medicine
Adjunct Associate Professor of Law, University of Washington School of Law
Seattle, WA


William Wachsman, MD, PhD

Past President 

Professor of Clinical Medicine, Division of Hematology/Oncology
UC San Diego School of Medicine
San Diego, CA

Living Here

Brian Dahl, PharmD, BCOP


Oncology Clinical Pharmacy Specialist
VA Medical Center San Diego


Janice Schwartz, MSN, RN, OCN


Cancer Care Coordinator Surgical Service
New Mexico VA Health Care System
Albuquerque, NM


Cindy Bowman, MSN, RN, OCN

Board Member

Oncology Nurse Navigator
Cancer Care Navigation Program Coordinator
Ethics Consultation Team (Co-Chair)
Bay Pines VA Healthcare System


Mark Klein, MD

Board Member

Staff Physician, Minneapolis VA Healthcare System
Asst. Professor of Medicine, University of Minnesota
Minneapolis, MN


Russell (Rusty) Crawford, B Pharm, BCOP

Board Member

Past President
Clinical Pharmacist, Retired


Angela Schoppet, CTR

Board Member

Cancer Registrar at VA National Oncology Program 
Department of Veteran Affairs