Skip to content

2022-23 New Board Members

AVAHO 2022-23 New Board Members

Welcome New Members!

Julie Beck photo

Julie Beck, RN, MSN, MPH, APRN-BC

Oncology Nurse Practitioner
Cancer Care Coordinator
Moderator, VISN1 VA ECHO Cancer Care Conference

Julie Beck has worked for the last ten years as an Oncology Nurse Practitioner and the Cancer Care Coordinator at the West Haven VA. She leads the national VA Survivorship Special Interest Group and created and moderates the VISN1 VA Echo Cancer Care Conference. Prior to joining the VA, she worked as an RN in the inpatient hematology-oncology bone marrow transplant unit at Smilow Hospital at Yale–New Haven Hospital and was a clinical instructor for the Yale School of Nursing. Prior to becoming a nurse, she worked for many years as a commercial banker structuring loans for small to mid-sized companies in New York State.  She is a graduate of Princeton University, the Yale School of Nursing and the Yale School of Public Health.

Nicholas Burwick, MD

Associate Professor of Medicine, Division of Hematology
University of Washington
VA Puget Sound Health Care System

Dr. Burwick is a hematologist at the VA Puget Sound Health Care System in Seattle, WA.  He directs the Hematology VA-ECHO program based out of VISN20 and is Hematology course director at the University of Washington School of Medicine.  His clinical interests include classical hematology, malignant hematology, and bone marrow transplantation.  He currently serves as co-chair of the AVAHO program committee.

Kourtney LaPlant, PharmD, BCOP

Clinical Pharmacy Program Manager and Academic Detailer in Oncology and Sterile Product Preparations
VISN8 Pharmacy Benefits Management

Kourtney D. LaPlant, Pharm.D, BCOP is currently a Clinical Pharmacy Program Manager and Academic Detailer in Oncology and Sterile Product Preparations for VISN 8 Pharmacy Benefits Management with the Department of Veterans Affairs. She is also a Career Coach for the
University of Florida College of Pharmacy.

Dr. LaPlant received her Pharm.D. from the University of Florida in 2006. She then completed a residency in Geriatrics at the North Florida/South Georgia VA Medical Center. Dr. LaPlant received her board certification in oncology pharmacy in 2012. Before her promotion to VISN 8 PBM, her professional practice experiences included providing oncologic care for the
Hematology/Oncology section of the North Florida/South Georgia VA medical center in Gainesville, FL.

Welcome Advisory Board Members


Rusty Crawford, B Pharm (retired)

AVAHO President, 2018-2019
Education Committee Co-Chair
Editor, AVAHO Newsletter

Tony S. Quang, MD, JD

AVAHO President, 2020-2021
President, AVAHO Foundation
Member, Program Committee

William Wachsman, MD, JD

AVAHO President, 2019-2020

Member, Education Committee
Member and Recent Chair, Program Committee